The Harney County Health District Board of Directors provide leadership and direction for the district. The Board was formed in 1990 when the community voted to separate the health district from the Harney County government.

The board is comprised of seven community-elected members. Board members are elected on a rotation basis for four-year staggered terms.

Board members work closely with the community and the district administration. Meetings are generally held the fourth Wednesday of each month in the board conference room on the lower level of hospital. The community is always invited and encouraged to attend the public portions of district meetings.

The Harney County Health District Board of Directors meets the first Wednesday of every month at 5:30 p.m. in the Harney District Hospital Board Conference Room, 557 W. Washington in Burns, Oregon. The community is invited to attend the public portions of the meeting.

Board Meeting Minutes & Meeting Notices

You can find the unapproved minutes of the Sept. 6, 2023, Harney County Health District Board meeting here: Board Meeting Minutes — Sept. 6, 2023. 

These minutes will be reviewed for approval during the next meeting of the Harney County Health District Board of Directors, which is scheduled for Wednesday, Oct. 4, 2023, at 5:30 p.m. in the board conference room of the hospital.

The public portions of the meeting can be attended virtually or in person. If you would like to attend the meeting virtually, please email Kathy Huffman at to receive the videoconferencing information.

Occasionally, an executive session may be held during the board meeting per Oregon Revised Statutes. Executive sessions and applicable statutes will be included on the meeting agenda.

If you would like to address the board during the public comment period, please fill out a comment card.

Brad Erbe, Board Chair
Shana Withee, Harney County Health District Board of Directors
Shana Withee, Board Treasurer

Term Began: July 1, 2015
Came to Harney County: Shana has lived and worked in Harney County for more than 30 years. She and husband, Jim, have raised their four children here.
Community Involvement: Many 4-H Groups, Harney County Parks & Recreation Budget Board, Knitting Guild, Burns School District, Harney County Cattlewomen

Kara Bowen, Board Secretary

Term Began: July 5, 2023
Came to Harney County: Kara has lived in Harney County for 7 years.
Community Involvement: Previously practiced Physical Therapy

Dan Brown, Harney County Health District Board of Directors
Dan Brown

Term Began: July 1, 2013
Came to Harney County: Dan purchased property here in 1991. He has been the owner of Green Valley Ranch in Riley since 2000.
Community Involvement: Double OO School Board, County Weed Board, Harney ESD Board, EOCCO Local Community Advisory Council.

Sharon Davis, Harney County Health District Board of Directors
Sharon Davis

Term Began: August 26, 2015
Came to Harney County: Sharon moved to Harney County in 1974 after marrying her husband, Joe, a lifetime resident of the area. They raised two children here, and have two grandchildren.
Community Involvement: Crane School Budget Board, Crane High School youth group, Harney Partners for Kids and Families, Burns School District No. 3 Budget Board, Kids Club of Harney County, Burns Hilanders Booster Club, Community Support Foundation of Harney County.

Deborah Bentz

Term Began: July 5, 2023
Came to Harney County: Deborah has lived in Harney County for 29 years.
Community Involvement: Previously on Crane Elementary Governing Board, Harney County Planning Commission

Kathy Cook

Term Began: July 5, 2023